It was built in 1908 and inaugurated in 1909 on land located on Lisbon’s riverside; the same site where it would undergo successive expansions and renovations that made it, for more than three decades, the largest power plant in the country, supplying electricity to the entire city and district of Lisbon, as well as the Santarém Valley.
Designed by engineer Lucien Neu, construction was undertaken by the firm Vieillard & Touzet.
The period of challenges to operate the Tejo Power Station did not finish with the end of the war, and in the years that followed, the plant faced increasingly higher consumption and charging points while difficulty to procure fuel remained.
The following year, the high pressure boiler building, the largest structure in the power station, was expanded to include an additional boiler: boiler number 15, which began operating on 19 September 1951, when the Tejo Power Station was already acting as a “reserve”.
The Power Station is located in a building that is a unique example of industrial architecture dating from the first half of the 20th century in Portugal.